Periodic Pingback: Humor a la Slate

(Blogger’s note: every once in a while, I’ll find something on the InterWebTenterNet (thank you, McLeod Brothers) that I had no hand in creating, but is nonetheless such a case of awesome epicness (or epic awesomeness) that I cannot refrain from passing it on without violating my conscience.  And it helps if, like tonight, I’m too exhausted from dealing with medical providers and family issues to put up a column.  Thus, “Periodic Pingback” — a peripatetic palette of prime pieces per my PC.   Enjoy!  And I have a doozy of a post for tomorrow — watch out …)

It may say something about the state of comedy in the 21st century that one of the consistently best sources of humor in my life is an online news and opinion magazine.  Or maybe that says something about the state of mass media in the 21st century.  Either way, from Monday through Friday, if I want a chance to laugh out loud without having my intelligence insulted, my best bet is Slate Magazine.

Now, Slate does tend to run a bit to the liberal side for my tastes (they are, after all, a division of the Washington Post Media Group) and I don’t read everything they publish (a lot of it just doesn’t interest me).  And they do employ mean-spirited anti-religious knucklehead Christopher Hitchens as a regular columnist.  They ain’t perfect; nobody is except Jesus, and look what we did to Him.

But they are good for a well-thought-out laugh – whether it’s their weekly feature “Barack Obama’s Facebook Feed” (a parody, not the real thing … I think), a flow chart for the gravity of congressional scandals, the indecisiveness of Brett Favre plotted as an interactive mathematical graph, or documentation of the verbal pratfalls of vice-president/equal opportunity offender Joe Biden and ex-governor/free-form linguist Sarah Palin.  Almost every day, the site has something that makes me guffaw, something that makes me think … and often something that does both at the same time.

One could find worse news outlets.  (I’ll name no names …)

5 Responses to Periodic Pingback: Humor a la Slate

  1. Causes of autism Blog says:

    […] Periodic Pingback: Humor a la Slate « Ray Anselmo, Professional … […]

  2. Test Blog 2 says:

    […] Periodic Pingback: Humor a la Slate « Ray Anselmo, Professional … […]

  3. Warhammer 40k says:

    […] Periodic Pingback: Humor a la Slate « Ray Anselmo, Professional … […]

  4. HomeGalaxy.info says:

    […] Periodic Pingback: Humor a la Slate « Ray Anselmo, Professional … […]

  5. Baby Needs says:

    […] Periodic Pingback: Humor a la Slate « Ray Anselmo, Professional … […]

Leave a Reply

