Periodic Pingback: Louis C.K. on how thankful we SHOULD be

(Blogger’s note: from time to time, I run into something on the Interwebtenternet that’s too good to not share — but I don’t want to clutter up my freinds’ e-mail inboxes with more forwards.  So I put it here.  I call it Periodic Pingback, and I hope you enjoy it.)

Let’s face it — we are very fortunate to live in the time and place that we do.  Life in the developed world in the early 21st century is filled with so many blessings that our minds can get too boggled to be appropriately thankful.

Well, I know mine can.  In fact, so often the sheer tonnage of goodies can so blind me that I start griping when everything isn’t absolutely perfect.  Which is incredibly ridiculous, if you think about it.  F’rinstance, I have a pipeline into my house that brings me news, live sports, weather reports, full-length movies, games, and a library larger than any in existence a hundred years ago, all at the push of a few buttons.  (You’re reading this on it right now; it’s called the Internet.)  I’ve said to my wife, “how did we ever get anything done without the ‘Net?” at least three times in the last week.  And yet if my DSL modem is disrupted for a minute or two, I go out of my gourd.  How’s that for gratitude?

So to bring the perspective on just how good we have it these days, I invite you to watch this clip of comedian Louis C.K. from an old episode of “Late Night with Conan O’Brien,” where he goes into several examples of how much better things are now than they used to be.  We may not live in a perfect world (far from it), but I’d tend to say this is the best era to live in that’s existed since Eden.  At least until the next one.  Thank you, God.

One Response to Periodic Pingback: Louis C.K. on how thankful we SHOULD be

  1. Lori Knutson says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed watching this clip!! I’ll probably watch it again sometime. He is so right, and so funny!

    Brought back fond memories of the rotary phone. I too remember hating dialing 0’s! Also, we were on a party line where we shared the line with the neighbors across the road. If they were talking on the phone, then we had to wait for them to finish before we could make a call!!

    Lori

Leave a Reply

